Upcoming meetings

Rural Media South Australia aims to provide a genuine focus for rural issues, combined with a forum for networking between the highest levels of agribusiness, government, media and rural producers.

Members and guests are encouraged to note the following dates in their diaries:

2015 Meetings

> Wednesday 22 April 2015

The Lost SA Diggers - Our ANZAC Tribute of 100 Years since Gallipoli
Ross Coulthart, Investigative Journalist with Channel 7 "Sunday" Program
(Luncheon 12.00 noon for 12.30 pm)
(Members’ Banquet Room, Adelaide Showground, Wayville)

Thursday 10 September 2015

2015 Royal Show Breakfast
(Breakfast 7.00 am for 7.30 am)
(Members’ Banquet Room, Adelaide Showground, Wayville)

Friday 11 December 2015

2015 SA Rural Media Awards
(Luncheon 12.00 noon for 12.30 pm)
(Members’ Banquet Room, Adelaide Showground, Wayville)

Welcome to the RMSA Website

Our latest news

Alltech Rural Media Awards (Jan 2015)

Enter Agricultural Journalism Award for young leaders today

Entries are now being accepted for the 2015 IFAJ-Alltech Young Leaders in Agricultural Journalism Award for journalists and communicators working in the rural sector. 

If you are 35-years-old or younger and would relish the opportunity to travel to New Zealand in October 2015 and meet your peers from around the world at the annual International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) congress, then this professional development award is for you.

>> Full details about the award are available at this link.

2014 Telstra & Rural Business Support Rural Media Award Winners (Dec 2014)

From record entries, ABC journalist Kerry Staight and The Advertiser photographer Tait Schmaal have won the major prizes at the 2014 Telstra & Rural Business Support Rural Media Awards. The Awards, attended by 120 people were presented at a Rural Media SA (RMSA) luncheon at the Adelaide Showground.

Kerry Staight came through from the hotly contested and high standard television section to win her second major RMSA journalism award, previously winning in 2011 when she then went on to win national and international awards.

Tait Schmaal is no stranger to the photography award winners circle, securing his fifth Telstra & Rural Business Support Rural Photographer of the Year Award in the last 9 years. He continues to set extremely high standards for others to follow.

>> Click here for full 2014 results & winner write-ups
>> Click here for a listing of results over the past 19 years

Michael McGlashan (Telstra); 2014 Rural Journalist of the Year, Kerry Staight; 2014 Rural Photographer of the Year, Tait Schmaal; Kay Matthias (Rural Business Support); Chair of Rural Journalist Award Judging Panel, Dale Manson; Chair of Rural Photographer Award Judging Panel, Deanna Lush; RMSA President, Ian Doyle.

ACAJ criticises cuts to ABC (Nov 2014)

Rural Media South Australia is a member of the peak national body representing rural and regional journalists across Australia - the Australian Council of Agricultural Journalists (ACAJ).

ACAJ is saddened and disappointed that rural and regional Australia appears to have been disproportionately hit hardest by cutbacks at the ABC - one of the country's most trusted and respected news organisations.

Recent news of the proposed closure of regional offices, RN's daily Bush Telegraph and weekly state-based TV current affairs programmes the ACAJ believes will have an immediate and detrimental effect on the coverage of important issues outside our major cities .

Cost-pressures on the ABC's News Division have already restricted the access to and reporting of these stories at a time when there have also been drastic cutbacks affecting the rural and regional media more generally.

The ACAJ urges Mark Scott and the ABC Management as well as the Federal Government not to overlook the important role rural and regional journalists play in supporting remote and regional communities.  To cut these services is another blow to rural Australia.


Barley & Brewing - First RMSA Meeting of 2015 (Nov 2014)

Dr Tim Cooper AM, Managing Director & Chief Brewer, Coopers Brewery

The first RMSA Meeting of 2015 is programmed as a luncheon on Wednesday 25th February, featuring Managing Director of Coopers Brewery, Dr Tim Cooper AM and Quality Manager at Coopers Brewery, Dr Doug Stewart.

The focus of the meeting will be on where South Australian barley growers need to devote their future energies, largely determined  by where the State's brewing industry feels it is heading. Will changing trends in beer consumption affect the type of barley growers will need to deliver?  How can barley growers receive better intelligence from end users without necessarily locking themselves in, or maybe it would be better to lock into a price and specific end use purchaser prior to the first  barley seed of the season being put into the ground?

Dr Doug Stewart, Quality Manager, Coopers Brewery

Former Governor General addresses soil issues (Oct 2014)

Former Governor General and current Advocate for Soil Health, Major-General the Honourable Michael Jeffrey AC, AO (Mil), CVO, MC (Retd) provided RMSA members and guests with quite a vivid outline of the state of Australia's soils at RMSA's 22nd October Luncheon Meeting.

As Chairman for the group "Soils for Life", Major-General Jeffery was in October 2013 appointed by Prime Minister Julia Gillard as Australia's first-ever Advocate for Soil Health.

In addition to the usual RMSA guests, the meeting was attended by six students from the Urrbrae Agricultural High School's agriculture program and teacher, Peter Smith.  Because of the high quality and interest of the students attending this function, Rural Media SA has decided to sponsor the attendance of Urrbrae students at all future RMSA events.

RMSA president Ian Doyle (left), member Grant Gartrell (3rd left - at back), and guest speaker Major-General the Honourable Michael Jeffery (4th right) are with Urrbrae students Adele Doecke, Maddie Mittermaier, Jacinda Holman, their teacher Peter Smith, Henry Crowell, Royce Pitchford and Rebecca Lewis.


Special guest speaker, Major-General the Honourable Michael Jeffery and RMSA president Ian Doyle at the RMSA October meeting

>> Download a transcript of Major-General Jeffery's address